Australia vs England World Cup 2019 2nd Semi-Final, England Won by 8 wickets

The 2nd semi-final of ICC World Cup 2019 was between Australia vs England at Edgbaston, Birmingham. Australia won the toss and opted to bat first. England won the match by 8 wickets. Chris Woakes bowled one of the best spells of his career as he picked 3 crucial wickets of Australia and helped his side to qualify for another World Cup finals. He was named Man Of The Match for his match-winning bowling performance.

Watch Man Of The Match Chris Woakes Innings Here:


Australia vs England World Cup 2019 2nd Semi-Final, was a high-pressure match as the defending champions Australia was in great form and were looking a balanced side which was heading towards their 6th World Cup title. But the hosts and favourites of the World Cup 2019, England didn’t make things easy for the defending champions Australia as they were also a great side and really outperformed Australia in this match.


Australia Playing XI – David Warner, Aaron Finch (c), Steven Smith, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Lyon.

England Playing XI – Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (c), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wk), Chris Woakes, Liam Plunkett, Jofra Archer, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood.

In World Cup 2019 winning the toss is considered as an advantage in the game as scores of 250+ runs have only been chased down just two times. No doubt that England also would have chosen to bat first after winning the toss.


Australia innings started in the worst way possible as they lost their top-order batsman David Warner, Aaron Finch, and Peter Handscomb for just 14 runs on the board in 6.1 overs. This situation was similar to India as in the 1st semi-final of ICC World Cup 2019. But from there Australian Captain Steven Smith and Alex Carey played responsible knocks and took Australia to 117-4 which came as a rescue partnership for Australia. They were losing wickets at regular intervals but Steven Smith was there from one end and was building small-small partnerships with every batsman. He played a wonderful knock of 85 runs from 119 balls. England bowlers restricted Australia to a small total of 223-10 in 49 overs.


England had a destructive start of their innings as opener Jason Roy charged on Australian fast bowlers and played an impactful knock of 85 runs in just 65 balls. Joe Root and Eoin Morgan finished the job for England by chasing down 223 in 32.1 overs. Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins managed to pick 1-1 wickets for their side. England advances to finals of ICC World Cup 2019 and will face New Zealand on 14 July at Lord’s, London. Both the teams have never won a World Cup in cricket history and will be looking to lift their first World Cup trophy for the first time.

Quick Summary

Australia – 223-10 (49)
Steven Smith – 85, Alex Carey – 46
Chris Woakes – 8-0-20-3

England – 226-2 (32.1)
Jason Roy – 85, Joe Root – 49*
Pat Cummins – 7-0-34-1

Watch Australia vs England Highlights for Quick Match Coverage:


For Latest Cricket updates, stay tuned with XYZ Crick.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *