ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Prize Money

World Cup 2019 offers a cash prize money for the winner of the mega event which is the highest ever in the history of the ICC tournament. The final of the ICC World Cup 2019 will be played between England vs New Zealand on 14 July at Lord’s, London. The ICC has the total prize pot of $10 million which will be distributed among 10 teams.

The price of the ICC world cup can amaze you as the winning team gets home a trophy and a cash prize money of $4 million (approx – 27.4 crores INR). The runners-up of ICC World Cup 2019 takes home a cash prize of $2 million. The losing teams in the semi-finals of ICC World Cup 2019 get USD 800,000. Besides that $40,000 for each win in League Stage matches. Teams that do pass the group stage ended up getting $100,000.

The prize money for India in this World Cup was $800,000 from the semi-finals and $240,000 was from winning 7 matches in the league stage of the tournament.

The total Cash prize pot of $10 million will be distributed as follows

ICC CWC 2019Prize MoneyDistributionTotal
Winner (1)$4,000,000$4,000,000$4,000,000
Runner-up (1)$2,000,000$2,000,000$2,000,000
Losing Semi-Finalist (2)$800,000 $800,000 $1,600,000
Winner of Each League Stage
Match (45)
$40,000 $40,000 $1,800,000
Teams that do pass the League Stage (6) $100,000 $100,000 $600,000
Total $10,000,000 $10,000,000

The stakes are high for this match and so is the cash prize but money is not the biggest motivator for the teams as winning their first World Cup is gonna be the biggest which could be there once in a lifetime chance. Moreover, emotions and passion have greater value than money in life and playing for the nation is above everything.

In the previous encounter between New Zealand vs England, the hosts England thrashed New Zealand and defeated them by 119 runs. England would like to repeat this scenario whereas New Zealand would be looking to alter the situation. The teams will be willing to put in all their efforts and creating history by winning first ever ICC World Cup for their nation. The hosts England are everyone’s favourites but New Zealand still got a great chance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *