New Zealand vs England World Cup 2019 Final, England Won the World Cup

The final of the ICC World Cup 2019 was played between England vs New Zealand at Lord’s, London. New Zealand won the toss and opted to bat first. England won the super over on boundary count.

England created history by winning the first-ever World Cup for their nation. The match was a thriller as it was gone till super over. England got winning trophy and $4 million cash prize whereas runner ups-New Zealand got $2 Million as a cash prize.


New Zealand Playing XI – Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wk), James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson.

England Playing XI – Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (c), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wk), Chris Woakes, Liam Plunkett, Jofra Archer, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood.


New Zealand doesn’t have a great start of their innings as they lost opener Martin Guptill for 19 who was dismissed by Chris Woakes in 6.2 overs. After that Henry Nicholls and Kane Williamson started building a partnership for their side and took New Zeland to 103-2 in 22.4 overs. Henry Nicholls played a really knock of 55 runs in 77 balls. After that New Zealand, batting line up scrambled in front of England bowling attack. Liam Plunkett bowled an exceptional spell and picked up crucial wickets of Henry Nicholls, Captain Kane Williamson and James Neesham in his 10 overs spell. New Zealand’s wasn’t up to the mark as England’s bowling attack restricted them to a total of 241-8 in 50 overs.

England batting scrambled in the early phase of innings but later Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler built a partnership which helped England to level New Zealand’s score. The final of ICC World Cup 2019 was tied and to decide results super over was bowled.


England batted first in super over and scored 15 runs. Jofra Archer bowled super over for England and Martin Guptill and James Neesham was facing him. Here also New Zealand levelled England scores and the winner was decided as per the boundaries count in the innings and super over.

Quick Summary

New Zealand – 241/8 (50)
Henry Nicholls – 55, Tom Latham – 47

England – 241/10 (50)
Ben Stokes – 84, Jos Buttler – 59

For Latest Cricket updates, stay tuned with XYZ Crick.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *